All About the Pitching

hairbrosvictory.jpgWe saw a lot of amazing things this weekend for these San Diego First Place Padres. It was so cool, and I’m so happy how well we’ve been doing. It’s unbelievable.

We won the first game of this series 9-0. That was a seriously good game. Friday’s game was amazing because Scotty Hairston hit a huge two-run homer. Can you guess who was the guy on base? It was his big brother, Jerry Hairston Jr!! So Scotty got the first Bro-BI of the season. Love it when that happens.

Couple that homer with dominant pitching from Clayton Richard, Luke Gregerson, Mike Adams, and Heath Bell, and we’ve got another win. The pitching is actually the story of this series, no doubt about it. I don’t want to make you faint with awe at some of these stats, but I’ll give them to you a little later.

Saturday’s game was a little sad because Trevor had to close us down. *Sniff sniff*

Mat Latos’ start was very good. He went six innings, only allowing six hits with two runs. Not bad at all. But unfortunately, Yovani Gallado for the Brewers had an even better start. He only allowed one run and had 11 strikeouts. 

It was pretty sad that Trevor had to pitch against us. I’m kind of glad that he was able to get the save with no problems. Of course, he’s the enemy now, and I’m not going to put him above my team. But he’s been struggling, and you can tell that he’s almost done. I think he should get #600 by say, July, then the Brewers should trade him back home and we can have him for the rest of the season. Then he can retire. That would be sweet. Or, even better, the Brewers can trade him back before he hits #600. That way he could get it here in San Diego.

wronguniformtrevortimestwo.jpgWrong uniform, Trevor. We miss you ❤

Of course, I not be saying that I’m glad Trevor got the save if we hadn’t won the series. But we did win three out of four, quite dominantly if I do say so myself, so I’ll give the Brewers a little slack. We were on fire this weekend.

On Sunday, Jon Garland started the game. At the beginning of the season, he was very erratic, but I think he’s settling in now. Yesterday, he went seven innings (there’s our innings eater), giving up only three hits and no runs.

We really got to Randy Wolf in the bottom of the third. Lance Zawadzki (oh my goodness he’s a cutie), who came up in place of Everth Cabrera, started off the inning with his first major league hit. I love seeing those 🙂

Then Jon Garland laid down a sac-bunt to move Lance over. Tony Gwynn Jr. tripled him in. A bit later, Scott Hairston singled in T-Gwynn. With Kyle Blanks batting, Chase and Scotty pulled off a double steal. So cool!!! (FYI, we are leading the majors in stolen bases with 29.)

In the bottom of the fifth, Scotty and Kyle hit back-to-back solo homers. SOOOO AMAZING!!!

We got four more runs in the seventh and eighth to make our lead 8-0. Sean Gallagher got into some trouble in the top of the ninth, including walking three guys, but he got out of it and we won the game!

Okay, so here’s the amazing stats that I wanted to tell you about earlier: In 34.5 innings, the Brewers only scored two runs. That also means that the Padres pitching only allowed two runs in 34.5 innings. I don’t know about you, but I think that’s unbelievable. Absolutely amazing, that’s for sure.

We also set a new record by getting three shutouts in a series. Never ever had we before had three shutouts in a series of any length. I do have to say, it was amazing to dominate.

Tonight we are starting a three-game series with the Rockies, and we’re still at home. Kevin Correia is starting.

GO FIRST-PLACE PADRES!!!      

   

2 comments

Leave a comment