Spring Training Countdown: 8 Days!!!! (Plus a Rant!)

Guess who’s wearing #8 right now? Kyle Blanks! What a coincidence. Here I was going to talk about our center field situation, and an outfielder is wearing number eight. Anyways.

I kind of talked about it yesterday, but I think that Scotty Hairston and Tony Gwynn are going to be the main guys in center field. Who’s going to be starting Opening Day? Probably Tony Gwynn. But you never know.

Yay for only EIGHT more days!! It’s officially one week until the charity game, by the way. I bet the guys are super excited.

Now I need to talk about Adrian Gonzalez. He’s seriously breaking San Diego’s hearts. I mean, it was bad enough that the Chargers released LaDainian Tomlinson a couple days ago.

ladainian tomlinson.jpgWe are going to miss you so much, LT. Thanks for all the memories and the amazing years of being a Charger.

I hate it when this happens to San Diego sports teams. The Chargers released him. They dumped him, kicked him off the team. They didn’t want him anymore. And that’s really hard on the fan, just to know that their front office didn’t think enough of that player who meant so much to them.

I wasn’t that attached to LT, like he wasn’t my all-time favorite player. But hey, he was San Diego football. Everyone looked up to him, and he was one of the greatest guys ever to play Chargers football. And he was here for NINE years! It didn’t really matter if you had another player on the team who was your favorite, LT was like an automatic favorite.

I’m telling you people, this is the exactly same situation as the Trevor Hoffman situation. I remember being so frustrated with people after he got released because everyone seemed to care more about LT then Trevor, saying that LT was the better person and player. I used to even resent LT a little because he seemed to be a lot more popular than Trevor. I know that there were a lot of huge Trevor fans out there and that a lot of people were very upset when he left the team, but I wasn’t really seeing it as much as I saw, “oh my goodness, we need to keep LT!”

But both of these situations are exactly the same. Player gets older, but still can play phenomenaly, is a huge icon to the fans and to the city, and the front office doesn’t want to spare the money to keep him, so they just kick him out. It was like that with Trevor last year, and it’s like that this week with LT. It makes you very, very angry at the front office. 

I was a huge fan of Trevor Hoffman. I was outraged at the way the front office disposed of him. Man. I was not happy at all that they didn’t even try to get him back. It was absolutely horrible. I understand that this is a business, but I don’t believe that it’s a good business decision to kick out a freaking icon!

So anyways, then Adrian has to come out with this little whining speech about how we have to win a championship or pay him the money he deserves or else he’s outta here. 

 
adrian.jpgI totally understand that he wants more money. A player of his caliber deserves a lot more than he’s getting right now. And I’m sure he’s thinking about his family and his foundation and stuff like that. I don’t think that he’s demanding the money just to be selfish, but he does have a right to. He should be getting much, much more right now. But I also know that at this point, the Padres probably aren’t going to be willing to part with the money that he should be getting. So, Adrian’s probably heading out the door.

If we’re not over .500 by the second half of the season, he’s going to get traded. If we can stay above .500 and be somewhere near first place, I’ll think the Padres will risk keeping him so that we can make a push towards the playoffs. I guess we’ll just have to see how this team pulls together and how they do in the first half.

But the point is, THANKS A LOT ADRIAN!! This is just what we needed to lift our spirits this week and to have a happy outlook on the season!

Like I said about LT, Adrian’s like an automatic favorite for the Padres fan. He’s an amazing player and a great person. But we have to win the World Series this year, or else he’s gone. But you know what, I have a feeling that even if we did win the World Series this year (right), Adrian would still be out the door. We just can’t afford him.

So enjoy having Adrian here for the next few months. ‘Cause he’s not going to be here much longer.

EIGHT MORE DAYS!! WHOOHOOO!!

GO PADRES!!! 

Become a fan of Unfinished Business on Facebook

4 comments

  1. 23gonzalez

    I know, I was kind of upset with Adrian as well. I mean, i can understand he wants money. But does he have to go out before the season and say that he’s gonna ask for what he’s worth in the free agent market??? And basically say that there’s no way he’s gonna be a Padre? I don’t know, I am a little disappointed.
    http://adriangonzalez23.mlblogs.com

Leave a comment