Almost Over :(

I was just thinking about this: man, the season’s almost over!! That’s pretty sad for me. The offseason is always pretty depressing. Last year wasn’t that bad because I had this blog to write about my woes on, but I’m starting to remember what happened last year. Trevor Hoffman’s estranglement from the team, Jake Peavy trade talks, my stupid front office. I don’t think this offseason is going to be as dramatic, but I’m not ready to be done with Padres baseball.

Over the last month or so, this team has changed dramatically. Jake Peavy was out, rookies were in. As players went on the DL, the kids were called up. And look at that – our future is playing right now. I think this is a glimpse of our future. We’ve got a ridiculous number of rookies on the team right now, and you know what, it’s working. The team won six series in a row before the Diamondbacks broke the streak this week. They’ve been playing amazingly! They’ve been getting hits, rallying back, playing some great defense, stealing bases, playing hard. 2008’s team was kind of laid back. They didn’t play hard, they didn’t fight. These guys are so much different than anything we’ve seen in the last few years. Sure, they’ve made mistakes, but the positives far outweigh the negatives.

This team has been so much fun to watch. I couldn’t say that last year. We were stressing about not losing 100 games last year. Sure, we were in the cellar for a long time, but that didn’t really matter because we were playing great baseball. We were beating great teams. We are playing spoiler really, really well.

This has been fun. I love this team. I love all the little rookies running around. I think this team has some legitimate Rookie of the Year candidates.

I just hope we can finish out the season well. It’s been an up-and-down season, but I hope we can finish it on a good note. Overall, it’s been a great season. We’ve got a wonderful glimpse of the future, and I think we’re going to be a great team next year.

That’s what I’m going to have to look forward to all offseason: My 2010 San Diego Padres!!

I got a special suprise in the mail this week:

IMG_7568.JPG

A Heath Bell autographed ticket from our own Cat! It was sooo cool!! Thank you so much, Cat!!

Today the Padres will start their four game series against the Pirates in Pittsburgh. Tim Stauffer is pitching tonight against Charlie Morton.

GO PADRES!!!

5 comments

  1. southernbelle

    Kaybee: I love little rookies. They always provide a spark. Like my Cervelli the other day….I hope my Yankees go all the way this year, because then the offseason will be shorter. And I just want them to win 🙂
    Cat is the sweetest. I love her! -Virginia
    http://southernbelle.mlblogs.com

  2. juliasrants

    Kaybee – it is so hard to believe that the season is almost over. When it began we all thought – it’s okay – we can lose that one, it is early in the season. It’s not so early in the season any more, is it? I know the Padres aren’t in the playoff hunt – and that is tough. But your guys have had a good season. They have played with heart and a lot of soul. Good luck to them next season.

    Julia
    http://werbiefitz.mlblogs.com/

Leave a comment