Well, we have an answer to our question: the Phillies did not win the World Series tonight. But they are not done yet. Game 5 of the World Series has been suspended to tomorrow night because of the Philadelphia rain. The score is 2-2 in the 6th inning. When play resumes, the Phillies will bat in the bottom of the 6th. They got their two runs on a Shane Victorino single. The Rays got singles from Evan Longoria and Carlos Pena to score twice off Cole Hamels. And, yes, you did read that right: Longoria got a hit. Those pesky base-stealers have been the Phillies’ only problem with Tampa Bay. So, it’s been a good game so far. A pitcher’s duel. Now it’s like, oh man! If the Phillies had been able to hold on to their lead, they would have won the World Series in the 6th inning. But it didn’t happen. So, these teams have a second chance tomorrow. I have no idea what the weather forecast is, but wouldn’t it be cool if the Phils hit a homer and it starts raining again and they win…..RIGHT. Well, this series has been very interesting. I wonder if something like this has ever happened before. Well, after everyone gets their free tacos, there will be some more baseball to be played. I can’t wait to see what happens! GO PHILLIES!
Well, it turns out that the game would not have been won by the Phillies even if the Rays hadn’t scored. So, there is rain in the forecast tonight, but Bud Selig is determined to play all 9 innings of this game. I hope it doesn’t take too long to get this thing finished!
Wouldn’t the Phillies have won by MLB rules? It had been determined that is was in fact an official game, so if the Rays didn’t tie before the game got called it should have gone to Philadelphia. Either way, I think that winning because the game got called is a crappy way to win the World Series.
Yeah, it would have been interesting, but not as satisfying. As it is, we will have to wait til tomorrow at least to see what happens…